Canada is the ninth market in terms of value of French wine and spirit exports in 2018.

In practice, there is no united market in Canada but thirteen markets that correspond to each province and territory of the country. Four of these provinces gather around 90% of wine consumption (Ontario, Quebec, British Columbia and Alberta).

With the exception of Alberta, all Canadian territories and provinces implemented a monopoly scheme of import and distribution, operating, generally speaking, based on call for bids

This scheme limits the capacity of exporters to freely trade towards Canada, in particular due to discriminatory measures taken against imported products.

The Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) between Canada and the European Union came into force on 21 September 2017. It enables European exports to have preferred conditions provided that they comply with certain modalities.